Review: Betrayal (Infidelity #1) by Aleatha Romig

BETRAYAL 1Title: Betrayal
Author: Aleatha Romig
Series: Infidelity #1
Rating: 5 stars
Genres: Contemporary Romance/ Erotica
Links:

BK1.1 Betrayal Facebook Cover Art

Blurb:
One week. No future. No past. No more.
Alexandria Collins has one week to live carefree—no ghosts of her past or pressures of her future haunting her. Reinventing herself as “Charli,” she is knocked off her feet by a sexy, mysterious man who brings her pleasure like she never imagined. With her heart at stake, she forgets that decisions made in the dark of night reappear in the bright light of day.

“Some of my tastes are unique. They aren’t for everyone. I understand that.”

Lennox “Nox” Demetri is wealthy, confident, and decisive—he knows what he wants. From the first time he sees Charli at an exclusive resort, he knows he wants her. Although he is usually the one to make the rules, together they agree on one:

One week. No more.

When betrayal comes from those closest to Alexandria, she must decide how far she is willing to go to survive. Choices are not always easy, especially when they involve the heart, body, and soul. After all, Infidelity is a business, and some rules are meant to be broken.

“Is it really cheating if you’re doing it to yourself?”

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Aleatha Romig comes a sexy, new dominant hero who knows what he wants, and a strong-willed heroine who has plans of her own. With classic Aleatha Romig twists, turns, deceptions, and devotions, this new epic dark romance will have readers swooning one minute and screaming the next. Have you been Aleatha’d?

BETRAYAL is a full-length novel and the first of five in the INFIDELITY series.

My Review:
What a sensational read! I’ve just read a couple of books that were a bit meh, so this book was like a welcome breath of fresh air. I loved it in its entirety – the beautiful writing, solid, consistent character and plot development, steady pacing, and steamy romance. This book had it all in spades and it sucked me in from the very first line.

There was a heady, enticing mix of romance, mystery, and suspense, combined with dark secrets and plenty of skeletons in the closet. The premise is so intriguing – one week to be someone else, and to indulge pent-up (hidden) desires, one week to escape the trap lying in wait. Who wouldn’t want an opportunity to enact out some fantasies with an amazing, hot guy before taking a return trip to reality?

I felt shivers all over whenever Alton was in the frame. I know where this is going and it’s going to be explosive. No wonder she referred to herself as Rapunzel – her childhood was a prison and her family do their best to lure her back in. I loved that Alex was strong enough to stand up to them, and so willing to forge a future path in life on her own terms, even though she is letting go of everything she has known and taken for granted. She was a strong character who wasn’t afraid to stretch herself out of her comfort zone with Nox either, and it can’t have been easy to relinquish control to him, but she was brave.

I’m intrigued to find out more about Nox. We only get one chapter from his perspective and I’m hoping the second book has more in his voice. I still need to understand what really makes him tick.

When Infidelity was introduced I was blown away by the unexpected turn in the plot – totally unpredictable, and I love when a book catches me by surprise. Though I did foresee where it was going with our couple after that revelation, it was still a fantastic twist.

And that ending? Sweet Jesus, I think I’ll DIE if I don’t get my hands on the next book, like NOW!! I need it like I need air to breathe. I know plenty of people hate cliffhangers, but I love’em even though they are the worst form of bookish torture. I like them because it makes the book MEMORABLE and difficult to forget. This is definitely one that is going to stay with me until I can get my hands on the continuation of this story.

I would highly recommend this book, especially if you enjoy strong storytelling, complex characters, and flawless writing. I also think it will particularly appeal to fans of Laurelin Paige, Lori Foster, Elle Kennedy and Addison Moore.

Favorite Quotes:

“Dreams, like Fairytales, all come to an end. We wake or turn that final page. There’s no escaping it. It may take days, years, or an entire lifetime, but forever doesn’t truly exist. No matter how hard we wish or try, the end always comes.”

“The void in my chest gaped open. It was so painful I feared looking down. If I did, I was sure I’d see bloody shreds of vessels and flesh where my heart had been.”

betrayalteaser2

aleatharomig1About the Author:
Aleatha Romig is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Aleatha has raised three children with her high school sweetheart and husband of nearly thirty years. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she’s not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns, she likes to spend her time a with her family and friends. Her other pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams!

Aleatha released her first novel, CONSEQUENCES, in August of 2011. CONSEQUENCES became a bestselling series with five novels and two companions released from 2011 through 2015. The compelling and epic story of Anthony and Claire Rawlings has graced more than half a million e-readers.

Aleatha released the first of her series TALES FROM THE DARK SIDE, INSIDIOUS, in the fall of 2014. These stand alone thrillers continue Aleatha’s twisted style with an increase in heat.

In the fall of 2015, Aleatha moved head first into the world of dark romance with the release of BETRAYAL, the first of her five novel INFIDELITY series. She also began her traditional publishing career with Thomas and Mercer. Her books INTO THE LIGHT and AWAY FROM THE DARK will be published through this mystery/thriller publisher in 2016.

Aleatha is a “Published Author’s Network” member of the Romance Writers of America and represented by Danielle Egan-Miller of Browne & Miller Literary Associates.

Links:

InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner - New

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge