Review: Indestructible (Indestructible #1) by Emma L. Adams

IndestructibleTitle: Indestructible
Author: Emma L. Adams
Series: Indestructible #1
Rating: 3.5 stars
Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, post apocalyptic
Links:

Blurb:
Two years ago, the fiends invaded, with a devastating explosion that split the world in two. Even now, energy blasts strike without warning, destroying everything in their paths. The fiends hunt anyone unlucky enough to escape.

My name is Leah. An energy blast killed my group. It should have killed me, too. Instead, I woke up alone in the wilderness, stalked by the fiends.

My only hope is the red-cloaked strangers who call themselves the Pyros. They can do the impossible and make flames shoot from their hands, and are more than a match for the fiends. Right now, my one chance for safety — and revenge — is with them.

But they’re keeping secrets from me. Like those skeletons hidden under their base. And the reasons I developed a psychic link with someone who can’t stand the sight of me — after he saved my life.

If I don’t uncover the truth about why the world ended the first time, my new safe haven might go up in smoke…

Indestructible is the first in a YA post-apocalyptic fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Divergent, Angelfall and The Mortal Instruments.

My Review:
This is my first book by Emma Adams and I enjoyed it. I adored her writing and the imaginative world she has created. It was vivid and visual and I had no trouble imagining it all in my head. The magical elements added an intriguing fantastical element to the story, and I found them original and engaging.

It took me a while to warm up to Leah, but by the end of the book I felt like I understood her better.

The plot isn’t wholly unpredictable but it was still a good story that held my interest despite the fact that this wouldn’t be my normal type of read. I was a little confused at the start as to what was going on as it’s pretty full-on straight off the bat, but after a few chapters I had settled into the story and was hooked.

My biggest complaint is that there is no romance, and I don’t usually enjoy post-apocalyptic or dystopian stories unless there is a healthy dose of love and some swoon-worthy male leads! However, if you are the type of reader that prefers an action-packed story without any romantic complications then you will love this book.

Thanks to the author for providing a copy of this book, via Lola’s Blog Tours, in exchange for my honest review.

Actual rating 3.5 stars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge