Review: The Six, and the Crystals of Ialana (The Six, #1) by Katlynn Brooke

the six and the crystals of ialanaTitle: The Six, and the Crystals of Ialana
Author: Katlynn Brooke
Series: The Six #1
Rating: 5 stars
Genres: Fantasy
Links:

Blurb:
A mysterious island, strange dreams and a powerful healing crystal lost centuries ago: seven young people must discover what their connection is to the disastrous events that took place five hundred years before they were born. Who are the Six Healers, what is their mission and how did it once fail?
The Six, along with a seventh companion, must navigate perilous mountain passes, caves and tunnels guarded by monstrous creatures, and embark on a sea voyage that is doomed from the start. Not only that, there is a potential traitor in their midst who may sell them out at the first opportunity.
The story takes place on the Continent of Ialana, a mythical place in a long-forgotten time that inspired legends and blurs the distinctions between science and magic. The Six discover that all magic is only an understanding of the true nature of reality and the construct of the universe. All they know is that their lives will never be the same again.

My Review:
The Six, and the Crystals of Ialana is a captivating fantasy book that is suitable for everyone from young teenagers upwards.

Relaying the story of six teenagers who are inextricably linked, this is a story of reincarnation, discovery, fate, inner strength and belief. We meet the six main characters as they experience the power of mysterious, shared dreams. These turn out to be memories of themselves in a previous lifetime, and thus begins a new chapter in their journey. Things went disastrously wrong the last time they were all together. Now they’re in a desperate race against time to change their destiny, and the the fate of their country and loved ones. They set off on an exciting adventure, meeting many characters and creatures on the way. Blaidd is clearly the villain of the piece, though I never stopped hoping that he’d turn over a new leaf and see the error of his ways.

Containing many magical elements that are often found in fantastical tales, the author creates her own believable world with engaging characters and vivid details.

I’ll admit that I was initially a little confused over the different characters, POV’s and various locations, but it all makes sense after a few chapters and that became a non-existent issue thereafter.

Exceptionally well written, the writing flows smoothly and it was an easy read.

I think this book would appeal to fans of Percy Jackson, The Chronicles of Narnia and the Hobbit. An enjoyable read.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge