Review: The Six, and the Gardeners of Ialana (The Ialana Series Book 2) by Katlynn Brooke

The Six, and the Gardeners of IalanaTitle: The Six, and the Gardeners of Ialana
Author: Katlynn Brooke
Series: (The Ialana Series #2)
Rating: 4.5 stars
Genres: Fantasy
Links:

Blurb:
In the second of the Ialana series, The Six have escaped the destruction of the Citadel in Rhiannon, but they find themselves caught in a power struggle between the competing rulers of Ialana. Unable to complete their healing mission, to heal those who were genetically altered by crystal manipulation, they flee the Galonese War-Lord, Ortzi, and attempt a dangerous journey back to their homes in northern Ialana.
Trapped by malevolent creatures, hunted by a monster who seeks them for reasons of its own, and on the run from a king and a conniving shape-shifter, there seems to be no place of safety for them.
Will they find the mysterious abode of the Gardeners? Who are the Gardeners, and what is their purpose for the Six? Will The Six be able to find Queen Catrin, who sets off on a quest of her own, or will Catrin run afoul of her husband, King Brenin, before she can find The Six?
In the Gardeners of Ialana, the Six explore the mysteries of healing, elemental command, and through many trials, learn their true purpose in life.

My Review:
This was another great fantasy read from Katlynn Brooke that will appeal to readers who enjoy well written fast-paced adventures on a grand scale.

The gang are dealing with so much in this book including political intrigue, betrayal,suspense and mystery. Everyone wants a piece of them and they need to stay ahead of the game in order to survive. The temptation of corruption and power almost lures some down a different path. The adventure continues with barely time to breath – though it’s in a good way. It never felt rushed or overwhelmed. I love the imagination and creativity in this book and we have so many fantastical elements including monstrous creatures, sea gypsies, leprechauns, shapeshifters, and even a brush with Royalty.

This is a series that is suitable for younger readers upwards and I think it will appeal to fans of Harry Potter and Narnia.

In the beginning, I had a little difficulty in picking up the plot line again and remembering all the characters. A few chapters in and that was no longer an issue.

All in all, this was a superbly written fantastical tale that has wide appeal.

Actual rating 4.5 stars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge