Review: Wait For It (Everything I Left Unsaid #4) by Molly O’Keefe

Title: Wait For It
Author: Molly O’Keefe
Series: Everything I Left Unsaid #4
Rating: 3.75 stars
Genres: Contemporary Romance

In a blistering novel of raw emotion and desire, a tormented woman teaches an alpha male that money canโ€™t fix everything . . . but love can.

Tiffany : After fighting for a new life, I donโ€™t want to play the victim anymore. However, with three kids to raise, Iโ€™m getting desperate enough to make a deal with the devil. My estranged brother-in-law, Blake, says he just wants to help, but heโ€™s been trouble since I met him. I donโ€™t know if I can believe this kinder, gentler Blake, and thereโ€™s a friction between us that has turned into the sweetest chemistry. He could be my salvation . . . or my downfall.

Blake : I havenโ€™t always had Tiffanyโ€™s best interests at heart but Iโ€™m ready to make up for my sins. Besides, I canโ€™t help admiring her: The girlโ€™s a genuine survivor, tough and lean, with eyes of steel. But the more I get to know Tiffany, the more I want her. Every inch of her. Which means Iโ€™m about to make a bad situation a hell of a lot worse.

My Review:
A heartfelt enemies-to-lovers story and a great addition to this superb series.

Having read the first two books in this series, and already connecting with Tiffany, I was really looking forward to getting stuck into this book. Tiffany and Annie bonded over their abusive relationships, their strength, and their determination to survive. Annie got her HEA with Dylan Daniels in the first two books so now it’s Tiffany’s moment in time.

Tiffany was trapped in an abusive marriage to Phil and she bore him three children. They are her entire world and she’d do anything to protect them including making a deal with the devil a.k.a her harsh, cold brother-in-law Blake. Tiffany took his money and ran with her kids, determined to start over with them in a new place. But when Phil reappears on the scene she has no choice but to flee and ends up running into Blake at one of the lowest points in her life.

When Blake first met Tiffany he thought she was a gold digger and that she was in on some scam with his delinquent brother, but he begins to realize he was wrong. Tiffany is running scared from Phil and Blake understands that he needs to step in and clean up his brother’s mess again. In doing so, he starts spending more and more time with Tiffany and gradually they fall for one another.

One of the things I adored about the first few books was the gritty drama, anguishing heartache, and the complexity of the characters. While we got that in this book it wasn’t quite up to the same standard as the earlier books and, in particular, I felt like Blake’s character development could have been explored a bit more. The transition from enemies to lovers came too quickly and I struggled to buy into the romance.

Tiffany is a superb character and I greatly admired her resilience and her strength. I wanted her to have a HEA because she has had so much pain and suffering in her life. I loved the addition of her kids and they added something magical to the story. I also adored the glimpses we got of Dylan and Annie and was so happy they were in a good place.

Overall, this was a very decent read and it’s a good addition to a superb series even if it didn’t quite match the brilliance of the first two books. As an aside, I didn’t read the third book as I had no interest in Max and Joan. You can totally read this book as a standalone and it works because the story isn’t reliant on the other stories and characterization is solid.

I love Molly’s writing style and she’s a very accomplished writer. Told in dual POV, the voice is strong and unique and there was never any confusion over who was narrating.

I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book as supplied by the publisher via Netgalley. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.

Actual 3.75 stars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge