Review: The Great Hunt (Eurona Duology #1) by Wendy Higgins

The Great HuntTitle: The Great Hunt
Author: Wendy Higgins
Series: Eurona Duology #1
Rating: 4 stars
Genres: Young Adult Paranormal Romance/ Fairytale Retelling
Links:

Blurb:
“Aerity…” Her father paused as if the words he was forming pained him. “I must ask you to sacrifice the promise of love for the sake of our kingdom.”

She could only stare back, frozen.

When a strange beast terrorizes the kingdom of Lochlanach, fear stirs revolt. In an act of desperation, a proclamation is sent to all of Eurona—kill the creature and win the ultimate prize: the daughter of King Lochson’s hand in marriage.

Princess Aerity knows her duty to the kingdom but cannot bear the idea of marrying a stranger…until a brooding local hunter, Paxton Seabolt, catches her attention. There’s no denying the unspoken lure between them…or his mysterious resentment.

Paxton is not the marrying type. Nor does he care much for spoiled royals and their arcane laws. He’s determined to keep his focus on the task at hand—ridding the kingdom of the beast—but the princess continues to surprise him, and the perilous secrets he’s buried begin to surface.

Inspired by the Grimm Brothers’ tale “The Singing Bone,” New York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins delivers a dark fantasy filled with rugged hunters, romantic tension, and a princess willing to risk all to save her kingdom.

My Review:
I really enjoyed this book, and I thought the storyline and world building were interesting and intriguing. Aerity (love that name) was a great protagonist. Pax was your typical sulky, snarly bad-boy with hidden secrets and depths. I love the angst and the emotional conflict from the tangled romantic relationships and I’m so looking forward to seeing how that all pans out in the next book. I did find it a little slow in parts and it took a while to get going but the last third was superb – edge of the seat action and suspense. All in all, a great read.

Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and FuryTitle: A Court of Mist and Fury
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #2
Rating: 5 stars
Genres: fantasy/ fairytale retelling/ romance
Links:

Blurb:
The stunning sequel to Sarah J. Maas’ New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court – but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms – and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future – and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

My Review:
Wow. Just wow. Sheer Genius. Loved every minute of every page. I cannot believe I have to wait a YEAR to read the next one. Feel like dying because I need it NOW!

This was – hands down – the best read of 2016 so far for me. I seriously ADORE Sarah’s writing and the amazing worlds and characters she creates. The second installment in this series was even better than the first. It hooked me from the first word to the last word and I could’ve cried when I finished it. Even though it’s a decent length, I was greedy for more. More Feyre. And definitely more Rhys. OMG. Love Rhys so much. I liked him in the last book, even though he seemed cruel it was obvious he was trying to protect her. In this book, we find out why and how and I seriously wanted to project myself into this book and jump his bones. I thought I would spontaneously combust if they didn’t get it on and it took until 78% for them to share their true feelings and commit to a relationship; boy was it worth the wait. (Still fanning myself!)

This had everything I adore in a read and I just cannot get enough of this series or this author.

Amazing. Go read this series now!

A word of caution – this is New Adult and not suitable for young teens.

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and RosesTitle: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Rating: 5 stars
Genres: Fantasy/ fairytale retelling/ Romance
Links:

Blurb:
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this USA Today and #2 New York Times bestselling first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down, and features a teaser for the next book!

My Review:
Wow. What a fantastic read. Though it was a little slow at the start, I soon became completely immersed in this elaborate, addictive world that Sarah created. Loved Feyre and she is everything you could ask for in a lead character. Tamlin – swoon. Rhysand – bad boy swoon. Loved the romance. Great dialogue and lots of witty banter. Adored all the fantastical elements and the world-building was superb.
The second half of this book was explosive and so gripping – it was difficult to sit it down. One of the things I love most about this author is the fact that she writes books that are a decent length, so we get more story for our money which is awesome. I picked this up for 99p which was superb value. I’ve already ordered the next book and can’t wait until May to see where she takes the story next.

Review: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

WinterTitle: Winter
Author: Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #4
Rating: 5 stars
Genres: Science Fiction/ fairytale retelling
Links:

Blurb:
Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

My Review:
This was an excellent conclusion to a superbly crafted series. Boy was this book long! It’s the second long book I’ve read in a row (the other was the sublime Oblivion) and it didn’t disappoint in the slightest. I loved every minute of it.

One of the things I love the most about this series is Marissa’s ability to develop so many different characters and give them all a unique voice. This could have all gone terribly wrong, but it didn’t, and each chapter flowed smoothly even with the POV changes. I read a lot of books narrated from one or two characters perspectives and this was a very refreshing change. She also gave me 4, yes, FOUR, different romances to root for. Pure heaven. All the romances were so sweet and I was praying that all our couples got their HEA.

This book was about so much more than romance, though. It was a race against evil to reinstate Cinder as the rightful Lunar heir, and thwart Queen Levana’s despicable plans. The plot was full of twists and turns and though I knew it was all going to work out fine in the end, I honestly couldn’t have predicted the journey.

The ending was great, even if I did want more! I would love a novella set a few years in the future to show where each of our couples are. Pretty please, Marissa?

This series is such an imaginative take on the classic fairytales we all know and love, and I’m in awe of this author’s ability to develop such a fantastic world with amazingly different, complex characters and put her own unique spin on the classic stories.

I also adore her writing. In my opinion, each book in this series is better than the last. If you haven’t yet checked out this series – you should! I’ve bought the collection for my niece for Christmas and I just know she’s going to love them as much as I have.

Incredible ending to an incredible series. I’m so sad it’s over, but look forward to whatever Marissa produces next.

Blog Tour: Strings by David Estes

FB
Today is my stop during the blog tour for Strings by David Estes!

Strings CoverTitle: Strings
Author: David Estes
Series: standalone
Genres: Science Fiction/ Fairytale Retelling
Links:

Blurb:
“A wonderful retelling of the Pinocchio story…
I simply couldn’t put this book down.”
Rysa Walker, bestselling author of TIMEBOUND

Sometimes the strings that tie us down are the same strings that set us free.

Sixteen-year-old Pia has always lived in a mysterious facility where mechanical strings control her existence. She plays apprentice to her father, Gio, in performing nanotech designs for the Company, and she soon suspects there are diabolical human forces behind the manufactured reality of her world.

Though her childhood memories and the origins of the strings remain strangely elusive, she begins to find solace with the introduction of two unlikely friends: daring, irrational Sofia, and calm, tender Marco.

As the truths of the past and present unravel together, Pia must find a way to free herself from her strings and escape the facility before facing the wrath of the unstable head of security, Mr. Davis. But to gain her freedom, she must navigate the dangers posed by Davis and by her suspicious new friends to find the real identity of the puppeteer.

If Pia can succeed in revealing the secrets of the Company, she may very well find the independence she so desperately seeks. But in her controlled world nothing is as it seems, and the closer she gets to the truth, the graver the consequences.

Author PhotoAbout the Author:
David Estes is the author of more than 20 science fiction and fantasy novels that have received hundreds of thousands of downloads worldwide, including The Moon Dwellers, Fire Country, Slip, Brew, and his new SciFi Pinocchio retelling, Strings. He lives in Hawaii with his inspiring Aussie wife, Adele, rambunctious son, Beau, and naughty cat, Bailey. When he’s not writing, you’ll likely find him at the beach swimming, snorkeling, or reading under an umbrella.

Links:

There’s a tour wide giveaway, for a chance to win enter the rafflecopter below:
a Rafflecopter giveaway